Home > LGBT - Media > Out Loud: The first Lebanese movie to tackle homosexuality

Out Loud: The first Lebanese movie to tackle homosexuality


Raynbow contacted the director of the newly released Lebanese movie Out Loud after a concern raised by one follower of the Lebanerse LGBT Media Monitor.

The single comment came in response to the following interview with the movie’s director and cast:

Here is Mr. Samer Daboul’s response and clarifications:

Mr. Daboul: “Out Loud the Documentary, among other important things, aims to introduce Lebanon and cinema in Lebanon and gay rights in the Middle East through the experience of what happened behind the camera while filming the movie Out Loud. I was born and raised in Lebanon for 18 years before I immigrated. The film OUT LOUD is not presented from an American prospective. The actors and crew were Lebanese and the subject has nothing to do with American propaganda and has everything to do with who we are. I don’t like to blame others for my own doing – if I see something I don’t like in my country, I am going to point it out without blaming anyone else for what I see wrong but my country. Today my country is planet earth and the idea of “there is an enemy somewhere” is no longer relevant. Most of the modern world got the idea that if any country is oppressed, all of us are oppressed. I don’t know if Lebanon is starting to get the point. But it’s time to stop dividing this planet that we’ve been destroying and start to work as one and make sure that we protect our planet. And I am not talking force protection. I am talking environment, Health, education, art and technology to where we can harvest our available natural resources to where all of us can maintain healthy life, not polluted in every way. The minute we attack each other we start polluting. We can all live a good life and today we have all the resources we need to do so. No bigotry, no hate, no enemy. I look forward to seeing the Lebanese especially public figures admitting that some of the greatest heroes in the world happen to be gay. I like to see straight men protecting gay men instead of hurting or even ignoring them. We are all humans and once we start acting that way, everything else like Politics, religion, rules, traditions and money becomes Irrelevant.”

Raynbow: When shall we expect the movie to be released in Lebanon?

Mr. Daboul: “OUT LOUD distribution in Lebanon is still holding back because of the film story subject. We are trying to push for the film to be released in July. I hope that the theaters in Lebanon take a positive step for July release.”


Here is a screen shot showing the comment that raised the question:

Cynthia Issa sited the following concerns:

  • “Demonizing Islam”
  • Pink washing America’s war crimes in the Middle East by portraying it as the saviour of Lebanon’s oppressed gay community
  • “Alienating Lebanese queers who do not speak English” by producing a movie in English

The above claims were made before the movie was seen. We also now learned that the last claim is false. The language of the movie in Lebanese Arabic. Mr. Daboul comes across as a loud and strong supporter of LGBT rights in Lebanon.


  1. jimmy
    May 2, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    I can understand Cynthia’s fears enough , but lets not judge a film before watching it.

  2. May 4, 2011 at 1:48 am

    I actually had an opposite concern. I worried that the film only tackled the religious aspect of homophobia in Islam’s perspective without mentioning the role of Christianity and other faiths as well. They’re all on the same boat in this in Lebanon.

  3. jimmy
    May 11, 2011 at 11:50 am

    @Lebagaga I’ve never heard of a church calling ministers to shut down an association promoting “louwat”. So no they’re not all on the same boat. Christianity is a religion of Freedom. I tell you that and I’m agnostic.

  4. It's Me
    July 26, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    I don’t get Cynthia’s concerns… Islam is a religion as is Christianity and Judaism and they all should be vilified.

    “With or without religion, you would have good people doing good things and evil people doing evil things. But for good people to do evil things, that takes religion.” – Steven Weinberg

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

